School Daze, Untied: A Vlog Post (Part 2)

I had mentioned in a previous blog post about expanding on why I chose to do my midterm as a vlog than writing some form of an analysis, and maybe even expanding more on the complex relationship I am creating with School Daze and Tongues Untied.

Here is that expansion!

I am really trying to learn to be more articulate when explaining my ideas. I have trouble in the classroom sometimes; my talking points become tangential or, as it often happens, I can visualize what I am saying but cannot find the right words to explain myself. So, I wanted to put myself to test and really practice the way I speak about my thoughts. I think it’s especially hard to talk about a subject (in this case, sexuality and blackness) that you are still exploring, so I tried it out and hopefully it worked out

I am still thinking about this violence that grows in the institial space of blackness and homosexuality that both School Daze and Tongues Untied create, not only in it’s content, but the way the two films are filmed and directed. I touched upon it in my vlog, the jarring nature of the cuts and overlapping sound in Tongues Untied or the language of intimidation that is inherently homophobic in School Daze. I wanted to tie my thoughts together a little bit before I finally squash this topic, but please comment with any thoughts! I’m still trying to figure it out myself.

Author: ireesdeelia

I'm someone who likes using words and putting them into sentences.

Leave a Reply

